My Quest for Happiness in 2014

Auckland, New Zealand

Holy moly!  How are we already in February already?  FEBRUARY!?  Wow, time has flown by since the Christmas holidays! 🙂

I hope you all have had a wonderful break and that 2014 has started off smoothly!  It sure has started in a bit of a chaotic way for me as I moved into a new apartment last month and have spent a lot of time unpacking and getting to grips with being back in work.  On the bright side, I am now living amongst the bright lights of beautiful Auckland City and whereas before I needed 2 hours of travel time a day to go back and forth to work on the ferry, I can now walk to work in 10 minutes!  Lemme tell ya, there’s nothing like sleeping in for a whole extra hour to get you in a positive frame of mind. 😉

I have been reflecting deeply on what I enjoyed about 2013 and what I hope to achieve in 2014, and while I feel like my life is moving forwards in a positive way (with a great new relationship and my office work schedule becoming more balanced with my comic work schedule), I feel like there is still a long way to go in order for me to become a happier person.  Therefore I have started listing a few goals I would like to work on this year and I’d like to share five of them with you:

1.  Exercise More Regularly

Every time that I feel like I’m on the bandwagon when it comes to eating right and exercising, it doesn’t take long before I get distracted by other matters and find myself eating snacks in front of the computer again!  Sometimes it’ll be work deadlines, and other times it’ll be social events booking up my evenings, but I have learned that you should never let anything get in the way of improving your health and it is one of the most important things in your life.  So earlier this week I signed up for the gym and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to spend most weeknights there for the treadmill, as it’s on my way home, and still be home in time for dinner.

2.  Focus On The Positives

Considering I’m the creator of a blog called The Happy Digest you’d think that I’d be a naturally happy person who’s always looking on the bright side of life, but unfortunately that isn’t always the case.  There are always going to be days where everything can look bleak and things don’t work out the way you planned.  It’s easier said than done, trying to cheer yourself up when there may be no one around to help you, but I will try my best to turn my darker days brighter by reminding myself of the positive influences in my life and that things could always be worse.  Plus watching an episode of Bob’s Burgers never hurts either. 😉

3.  Remember to Laugh

At times I think we can all take ourselves a little too seriously.  The same goes for other people’s comments towards us.  Words can hurt, and sometimes we will over-think about what people say about us when really we should stop and remember that we’re all human and should just laugh things off sometimes.  After all, we can’t choose what happens to us but we can choose our reaction to it.

4.  Defend My Differences

While I can generally fit in just fine with other people, I still find myself being put under pressure to agree with other people’s points of view and to go along with certain events or situations I am not particularly comfortable with.  So from here on in I’m going to do my best to share what I really think with people and be more open about what I consider to be fun.  Even if it can be a little unexciting to some people ha ha!

5.  Replying and Updating More Frequently

I am terrible at replying to my emails on time.  And checking my Facebook page.  And updating at a regular time each week…  However, I will endeavour to change my bad habits by any means necessary!  Thus far I’ve linked my Hotmail account to Microsoft Office’s Outlook to help me get a bit more organised (since I’m more used to Outlook from work), so I guess so far so good. 🙂

That’s all for now, ladies and gentlemen!  Take care, stay happy and have a brilliant rest of the week! 😀

5 thoughts on “My Quest for Happiness in 2014

  1. I love this post!!!
    I hope the city lights are keeping you entertained!

    I LOVE those kitties on treadmills!! That second one that wasn’t on it for much was super awesome!! He made me so happy!!

    You are a bright and intelligent individual and you can do so much!
    That clip from Bob’s burgers is pretty awesome!! Makes me want to watch the show!!
    Although I haven’t seen this series properly I think you’ll enjoy this:

    I love how Karl is laughing so much at himself! It’s brilliant! I love the whole conversation he has!!! brilliant stuff!!!

    I had NO idea that Steve Carell was in 40 year old virgin! I once watched it but I had no idea who he was at the time. I love that guy! And I agree! Do what you think is fun! Not what others think is fun!

    I’ve never used Outlook, but I suppose it’ll be easier to use than the web interface? I never seem to be as aware of new personal emails as I was a few years ago when MSN was still around. With MSN I could be told when I have a new email but now I have nothing to tell me. I just keep a tab open for my email and check it every so often!!
    That homestar video is brilliant! I love that series!!!

    • LANAAAAAAAAAA!!! Oh Archer, when will you learn? 😀

      I know what you mean, I’m also a bit out-of-date when it comes to new email interfaces, but having Outlook on my desktop is definitely my preference as I’m used to it from work and it helps motivate me to clear out my inbox whenever my laptop starts up!

      Thank you so much for the kind words, dearest Chirone! Take care and have yourself a happy week! 😀

  2. Yep…that’s exactly how fast time has flown…great goals btw…I would love to read more of your comics in this lovely blog of yours in Year 2014…hehe…(hmm…is that too much to ask??)

    Happy Monday and Cheers!! 😀

    • Thank you! I try hard to improve myself each year (well, I start off each year with good intentions in any case he he!). I’m working on getting a widget of some kind to display my weekly comics here so expect lots of cartoony goodness ahead! 🙂

      Take care and I hope you have yourself a happy and wonderful week! 😀

      • YAY…so happy to learn about that…can’t wait to read about them…oohhh…..

        All the best to you, my friend!

        Have a wonderful day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

Leave a Reply

